CWA ICWA Final - Course Structure

ICWAICWA ICWA (2008)Final • Course Structure

Course Identification/name, Duration and Examination dates

The course at this level is identified as

CWA/ICWA » Final

For those students who are pursuing the course through Foundation i.e. after passing Foundation level, this would be the third level course relating to the CWA/ICWA (Cost and Works Accountancy - Professional Accounting) Course.

For those students who are taking up the course after their Graduation this is the second level course.

Course Duration

The minimum course duration as per the regulations of the institution is

CWA ICWA Final » 12 months

The course duration is the minimum time that a student has to spend on taking up the course on this level. It is the period starting from the time the student gets registered to the time the student completes the course.

The actual time that a student has to spend on the course is dependent on the actual date of registration.

Examinations – When?

The main/final examinations for the course at this level are conducted twice every year generally on specified dates which do not change except under extraordinary circumstances.

June Examination

Second Week of June

[Group III - 11th to 14th; Group IV – 15th to 18th ; Time : 2 pm to 5 pm]

December Examination

Second Week of December

[Group III - 10th to 13th; Group IV – 14th to 17th ; Time : 2 pm to 5 pm]

Pursuing the Professional level along with Graduation/Post-Graduation Courses

There is no restriction on other academic pursuits. This level of the courses can be pursued along with any graduation or Post Graduation Courses.

Course Structure Pattern

The CWA ICWA course at the Final level (ICWAI: Final Examination) consists of theoretical examinations as well as comulsory practical trainings. The theoretical examinations consists of 15 subjects to be studied arranged into 2 groups of 4 papers of 100 marks each.

Pass Marks

To pass a student has to obtain a minimum of 40% in each paper and an aggregate of 50% in all the papers of a group together, failing which the student has to reappear in all the papers again. Even if the student appears in both the groups together each group will be considered separately for assessing the result.


There are certain exemptions in cases where the student has failed the examination but has obtained high marks in one or more papers.

A student has to get through these and complete the compulsory practical trainings to be eligible for MEMBERSHIP of the institution.




AcademicPractical Training
[15 subjects arranged into
2 groups of 4 papers
of 100 marks each.]
1) Computer Course
2) Dissertation
3) Modular Training
4) Audit/Industrial Training


Temporary Status till membership is acquired.
(This is not a kind of membership)

Practical Experience/Training [3 Years]

Can be acquired either before or after or during the course period.

Associate Membership

Post Qualification Courses [Optional]

Subjects to be Studied

Each paper 3 hours-100 Marks

CWA/ICWA: Final group III

CWA/ICWA: Final group IV

Use the subject names as links to pages containing the syllabus and list of recommended books.

Exemptions from One or More Papers based on Other Qualifications Held

Exemption From Final!!!

No one is exempt from studying all the papers at this lelvel i.e. there is no qualification which would enable a student from bypassing the intermediate level and going to the final level directly.

Exemption From some Papers

Only a pass in the final examination of ICSI, has the following subjects exemption. No exemption is available for any other qualification under Revised Syllabus 2008.

Paper 12: Financial Management & International Finance

Paper 14: Indirect & Direct – Tax Management